Home | Français | Contact Us | WebMail
Loading

Human Rights Committee

The Union of National Employees is strongly devoted to safeguarding, promoting and advancing human rights. While all unions have a rich history of advocating for human rights, our members are especially proud of our dedication to this cause. We are thrilled to have many individuals, who are part of equity-seeking communities, actively participating in union activities. In essence, we believe diversity is richness; our membership’s diversity is a core element of what helps us grow and move forward.

As a union, we continue to fight for human rights and equity for all members, regardless of sex, sexual orientation, gender expression and gender identity, age, mental or physical ability, Aboriginal identity (First Nations Métis or Inuit), race, colour, creed, ethnic or national origin, religious belief, political belief, marital status, and conviction for which a pardon has been granted. We are equally committed to social justice.

To help us attain these goals, the Union of National Employees hosts a human rights conference every three years.


Human Rights Committee

The Union of National Employees is proud to have a human rights committee that dates back to 1978! The committee meets regularly to support and guide our members regarding human rights and issues of equity. They also assist our union in its efforts to achieve equity for all members.

The human rights committee consists of the national vice-president for human rights, the assistant national vice-president for human rights, five national equity representatives and ten regional human rights representatives.

The committee holds at least two meetings per year. If you have any questions, please contact your regional human rights representative. To find out more about this committee, please consult its terms of reference.

National Vice-President for Human Rights

Geoff Ryan
National Vice-President for Human Rights
(867) 222-1183
Geoff.Ryan@une-sen.org

National Assistant Vice-President for Human Rights

Daniel Toutant
Assistant National Vice-President for Human Rights
(819) 380-8034
Daniel.Toutant@une-sen.org

National Equity Representatives

Céline Ahodékon
National Equity Representative for Racially Visible People
(604) 751-2979
Celine.Ahodekon@une-sen.org
Michael Freeman
National Equity Representative for Persons with Disabilities
(226) 387-2216
Michael.Freeman@une-sen.org
Kate Hart
National Equity Representative for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People
(587) 336-6244
Kate.Hart@une-sen.org
Ruby Langan
National Equity Representative for Aboriginal Peoples
(778) 235-2035
Ruby.Langan@une-sen.org
Hayley Millington
National Equity Representative for Women
(613) 371-7911
Hayley.Millington@une-sen.org

Regional Human Rights Representatives

Sandra Ahenakew
Regional Representative for Human Rights, Saskatchewan
(306) 331-9213
Sandra.Ahenakew@une-sen.org
Sandy Bello
Regional Representative for Human Rights, Ontario
(289) 440-2873
Sandy.Bello@une-sen.org
Annette Brown
Regional Representative for Human Rights, Atlantic
(709) 424-2145
Annette.Brown@une-sen.org
June Dale
Regional Representative for Human Rights, NCR-Treasury Board
(613) 327-3423
June.Dale@une-sen.org
Meghraj Khadka
Regional Representative for Human Rights, Alberta & NWT & NU
(403) 431-1168
Meghraj.Khadka@une-sen.org
Carl Laguerre
Regional Representative for Human Rights, NCR-Separate Employers
(613) 794-9910
Carl.Laguerre@une-sen.org
Pierre Lamy
Regional Representative for Human Rights, Outside Canada
(613) 290-3909
Pierre.Lamy@une-sen.org
Keith Lemoine
Regional Representative for Human Rights, Quebec
(514) 834-3532
Keith.Lemoine@une-sen.org
Jacqueline Nanali
Regional Representative for Human Rights, Manitoba
(204) 430-6971
Jacqueline.Nanali@une-sen.org
Shirley Torres
Regional Representative for Human Rights, BC & Yukon
(604) 349-3021
Shirley.Torres@une-sen.org

Alternate Regional Human Rights Representatives

Human Rights News
National Aboriginal Day
2017/06/21
May 17 is International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia
2017/05/16
UNE Human Rights Award
2017/02/07
International Migrants Day 
2016/12/19
National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women
2016/12/06